A note to headhunters: Check your links

If you're going to try to recruit me, you might want to check that the links in your email actually work.

Just sayin'.

I'm going to mock you regardless, but you should at least make me have to work for it.

Comments (15)
  1. Not sure if it’s your case, but this is usually related to not so technically aware people,that paste links that are only internally visible, without FQDN. And I’m sure I have seen such links even in relation with Microsoft (Mostly on research.microsoft.com I think)

  2. aidan_walsh says:

    Google been calling again then, Raymond?

  3. MSDN once shipped a program whose startup links all went back to Redmond servers.

    I had a recruiter email me this morning to say she had a number of positions that she thought matched my [monster] resume. Then suggested I look at the link to her entire open position list of jobs and upload my resume to her company’s site so that employers could study it. I mean WTF do these people get paid for?

  4. Dan McCarty says:

    Rumors can be dangerous: watch out for flying chairs…

  5. Nishant Sivakumar says:

    It might have been a spoofed mail from the Microsoft HR department to see if Raymond is open to leaving. Now that they know he won’t, they needn’t give him that large pay hike planned for January ;-)

  6. tsrblke says:

    Yeah, The invetion of monster produced a whole new job type for people who wanted to go out and scan monster profiles and then email these people saying they are a head hunter and can find you a job! I hear that "scam" (scam in quotes, because arguably it’s not a scam persay) makes some people upwards of $100k per year. I suppose it’s a great example of the double edged sword that is the ‘net.

  7. Wound says:

    Of course, you’ve just told them that you tried to follow the link, thus expressing some kind of interest in being headhunted.

  8. Raymond,

    Please do not quit Microsoft. Microsoft needs you. WINDOWS needs you.


  9. Steve says:

    For those of you who tehre are big raises in the offing here at MS, you should read http://minimsft.blogspot.com/

  10. Cooney says:


    Most of the horked links I’ve found start with C:; the sad part is that when you call them on it, they fob it off with "but I’m not a technical person", like that excuses their incompetence.

    /just venting a bit.

  11. Jonas Grumby says:

    Most of the horked links I’ve found start with C:

    I’ll never forget the time a coworker was trying to show off his homepage. I went to the site, but none of the images loaded up… all the src tags refered to the c: drive. I’m sure it looked great for him at home.

  12. Joe Shelby says:

    same thing happened to me 2 years ago. yes, i blogged about it. :)

  13. These days when they call or email I try to mess with their heads. I tell them that I’m happy with my current job, but I’d consider leaving for 2 or 3 times my current salary.

  14. PJ says:

    So where is the mocking? :)

  15. BryanK says:

    Reminds me of a phishing email I got about a year ago. It was the standard "please update your ebay info" thing. (It was obviously fake, since I had no ebay account.)

    So I went to the page, to see what they were asking for. Viewing the source was an interesting exercise in stupidity — lo and behold, right in the middle of the page somewhere, there was a large script tag whose src attribute read "file:///c|/Documents%20and%20Settings/someusername/Desktop/ebay_files/blah.js".

    I’m sure it worked fine on the phisher’s machine… sigh.

Comments are closed.

Skip to main content