Microsoft Planner: I was in First Release Preview–How do I migrate?


I’ve had this question from folks who were signed up for First Release of Office 365 Planner Preview with a promo code, ,and they want to understand the migration path once the preview ends.  The general answer is there is nothing you need to do – all your plans and tasks will still be there after General Availability (GA) of Microsoft Planner.  There is an assumption here – that you have a paid subscription to one of the following:

  • Office 365 Enterprise (E1, E3, E4, and E5),
  • Office 365 Education (E1, E3, E4, and E5),
  • Office 365 Business Essentials,
  • Office 365 Business Premium

The question can be prompted by an e-mail warning of expiry of the preview which talks of disabling the preview and deleting your data - THIS WILL NOT HAPPEN – as long as you have a paid subscription.  If you don’t have a subscription – then the data will be deleted, but you can pull it all out first using the Graph API.

Look out for a message center posting that also gives this information – and don’t panic if you do see the e-mail.  The early promo codes will be expiring fairly soon – so some of you may already be seeing e-mails – if you signed up more recently then it could be a few months.  Just as a reminder you will get a license assigned automatically at GA – and the license screen for users will look something like this – if you had the preview too.

image

To administer licenses with PowerShell see my recent blog post - Microsoft Planner–a few common support answers


Comments (7)

  1. Rick says:

    Just to follow up, I thought you might like to know that Planner finally became available for us again (and some other tenants I know) late last week, after an absence (due to the Trial version snafu) of about 4 months.

    Contrary to the blog post, however, all data was deleted. So the numerous messages from O365 itself about data being deleted were in fact accurate.

    I’m not sure what the “paid subscription” clause is about above. As opposed to what? There are no free O365 subscriptions, are there? Maybe you mean like a demo tenant? No, we have a normal tenant.

    1. I’m very sorry to hear this Rick. Is yours a non=profit tenant? I know we did have some hiccups there. Please open a support incident against Planner so that we can follow up what happened here. By any chance were any groups deleted? Deleting the groups will also delete everything associated with groups – including plans.
      Best regards,
      Brian.

      1. Rick says:

        Ah yes, it *is* that (non-profit E1). Still worth opening a ticket?

        No, we haven’t really used Groups yet more than passingly, and the Planner user I know who was using Planner quite a lot was using it independently of any group (I wasn’t even aware until recently that there was a Planner link inside of Groups).

        1. Still worth opening a ticket Rick – the product group are keen to track who was affected by this issue. And very sorry for the inconvenience caused here.
          Best regards,
          Brian.

      2. rene says:

        Brian, just following-up on one piece: we are in the midst of migrating a client from Germany to US. In order to move the domain, our technical team was told to delete a group that was associated with a plan. Is what you are saying below that the plan was deleted when the group was deleted? That would be a very unfortunate result.

        1. Correct Rene – the plan would go with the Group. And the SharePoint site would go too. However, the good news is that it can be recovered – see https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/brismith/2017/03/29/microsoft-planner-now-you-can-recover-deleted-plans-and-groups/ but if you need for whatever reason to get rid of the Group for the migration then you will need to persist the data somehow. Graph can read plans – this post may help – https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/brismith/2017/04/17/planner-cloning-a-plan-with-multiple-assignments/.
          Best regards,
          Brian.

  2. João Basso says:

    Hi there.

    When I create a plan and add people to this plan, can I avoid that people make changes to tasks that they have not been assigned to? It seems that anyone can change or delete any tasks. It would be very important that control over tasks is restricted to the people selected by the creator of the plan.

    Can this be done?

    Thanks
    Joao

Skip to main content