Save Changes Before Building


Menu:  Tools -> Options -> Projects and Solutions -> Build and Run
Versions:  2008,2010
Published:  10/31/2010
Code:  vstipProj0015

 

image

 

In Tools -> Options -> Projects and Solutions -> Build and Run there is an "Before Building":

image

 

The default setting is to save all changes to the solution file and all project files that changed since the last build BUT there are also other options:

image

 

Save changes to open documents only-this option will do what it says and save changes to all open documents without any prompt.

 

Prompt to save all changes-will give you a prompt that gives you a choice about saving changes:

image

 

Don't save any changes-this will run the code but not save any of the changes you have made.  Generally not a good idea but can be useful in some situations where you are testing many different code scenarios quickly.

Comments (1)
  1. dave says:

    Thanks.

    Setting this to "save open documents only" is a great way to prevent VS from prompting me to save a solution file every time I build a project that I haven't created a solution for.

Comments are closed.

Skip to main content