Reuse the Same Editor Window When Opening Files


Menu:  Tools -> Options -> Environment -> Documents
Versions:  2008,2010
Published:  3/10/2010
Code:  vstipEdit0027

 

image

 

Normally, when you open up a new document it creates a new tab:

Default (before):

image

 

Default (after):

image

 

 

But if you go to Tools -> Options -> Environment -> Documents and check the "Reuse current document window, if saved" option then you get the following:  

Before:

image

 

After:

image

 

 

The caveat here is you have to have a "clean" (saved) document for this to work.  If the document was "dirty" (not saved) this would be the result even with this option turned on.

Before (note the asterisk to indicate the document is dirty):

image

 

After:

image

Comments (1)

  1. Dave Cousineau says:

    I liked this feature, until I tried to look at a form designer while editing its code. It would be nice if you could hold Shift to override the option, allowing you to open a second window without having to modify the first. Without a way to override it, you can never open a document just for reference, making the option nearly useless in practice.

Skip to main content