Digital Literacy Curriculum: Now Available as SCORM Objects

Great news! The highly successful Digital Literacy Curriculum is now available as SCORM objects that can be deployed in a Learning Platform or as part of a SharePoint/SLK implementation. The resources are free and can be downloaded from:

There are different versions for Windows XP/Office 2003 (original) and Windows Vista/Office 2007 (version 2). The Word versions are also available.

Here’s a reminder of what DLC includes:

Microsoft's Digital Literacy curriculum for the UK is now live – and available at no cost. The goal of the Digital Literacy curriculum is to teach basic computer concepts and skills so that people can use computer technology in everyday life to develop new social and economic opportunities for themselves, their families and their communities.

The Digital Literacy curriculum is available free-of-charge to everyone wanting to improve their digital literacy skills. The files in these folders have been packaged as SCORM Learning Objects so that they can be distributed, managed and assessed within a Virtual Learning Environment or eLearning Tool such as the SharePoint Learning Kit.

The Digital Literacy curriculum consists of five courses with a folder for each:

  1. Computer Basics
  2. The Internet and the World Wide Web
  3. Productivity Programmes (Word processing, Spreadsheets, Presentations, Databases)
  4. Computer Security and Privacy
  5. Digital Lifestyles

The content is in two formats for Windows XP or Windows Vista as follows:

· Folders labelled “Original” are XP content versions

· Folders labelled Version 2 are Vista Content

· Individual chapters are included for the Productivity Programmes Course, all other courses are in a single package.

· The Folder labelled NON-SCORM includes all the courses in a non-SCORM format that can be run from SharePoint within a browser. Note: The Original Version doesn’t include the Productivity Course as it is too big a package to load onto SkyDrive.

Comments (0)

Skip to main content