How to enable the Site Backup Maintenance Task


Nasıl Yaparım:

1.       In the Configuration Manager console, click Administration.

2.       In the Administration workspace, expand Site Operations, and then click Sites.

3.       Select the site in which to enable the site backup maintenance task.

4.       On the Home tab, in the Settings group, click Site Maintenance Tasks.

5.       Click Backup Site Server and then click Edit.

6.       Select Enable this task, specify the backup destination, and then configure an appropriate schedule for the site backup task.

 Important:

It is advisable to specify the backup destination on a separate server or at minimum a separate drive, than the site server installation path. Additionally, the site server machine account requires Full Control permissions for the backup destination folder.

7.       Click OK and then click OK.

 

 

image

 

image

The Backup Site Server task should run on the schedule provided. Alternatively, a backup can be run manually by starting the SMS_SITE_BACKUP service.

 

image

What data is backed up in the snapshot?

In the backup destination folder a <Sitecode>Backup folder is created to contain the following data:

Site database files:

·         SiteDBServer\<Sitedatabase>.mdf

·         SiteDBServer\<Sitedatabase>.ldf

 

Site Server installed binaries and Registry key:

·         SiteServer\SMSServer\data

·         SiteServer\SMSServer\inboxes

·         SiteServer\SMSServer\logs

·         SiteServer\SMSServer\srvacct

·         SiteServer\ConfigMgrAdminUISetup.log

·         SiteServer\SMSbkSiteRegSMS.dat

 

·         BackupDocument.xml (backup metadata)

·         ConfigMgrBackup.ini

·         Smsbkup.log

 

 

Archiving the Backup Snapshot

The first time the Backup Site Server maintenance task runs, it produces a backup snapshot, which you can use to recover your system in the event of a failure. When the backup task runs again during subsequent cycles, it creates a new backup snapshot that overwrites the previous snapshot. As a result, the site has only a single backup snapshot. Using this method prevents you from retrieving earlier backup snapshots.

Using the AfterBackup.bat File

After successfully backing up the site, the Backup Site Server task automatically attempts to run a file named AfterBackup.bat. The AfterBackup.bat file is not installed during site installation and must be created manually by the administrator.

If an AfterBackup.bat file exists, and is stored in the <ConfigMgrInstallPath>\inboxes\smsbkup.box directory, the file will automatically run after the backup task has completed. The AfterBackup.bat file allows you to archive the backup snapshot at the end of every backup operation, and automatically perform other post-backup tasks if desired.

The AfterBackup.bat file integrates the archive and the backup operations, thus ensuring that every new backup snapshot is archived. If an AfterBackup.bat file does not exist, it has no effect on the backup operation, but in order to archive the backup snapshot, another method must be used.

 

Search for “AfterBackup.bat” in the Internet

 

 

Source: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/scstr/

Source: http://www.mycloud-tr.com/

İsmail Şen

Comments (0)

Skip to main content