Quick news: Microsoft Press wins 5 awards at STC competition

We’re happy to announce Microsoft Press recently won five awards in the Society for Technical Communication (STC) Touchstone competition! One book received the Distinguished Award and four received Merit Awards. Congratulations to our authors, editors, and everyone involved in making these great books!

The complete list of award recipients can be found here.

Winner of the Distinguished award:

Adaptive Code via C#
Author: Gary McLean Hall
Editor: Devon Musgrave

Description of this award:

The entry is clearly superior in all areas. It contains no major flaws, and few, if any, minor flaws. It applies the principles of technical communication in an outstanding way, particularly in the way it anticipates and fulfills the needs of its audience.

Winners in the Distinguished category will be submitted to the International Summit Awards competition, where they will compete with entries from around the world.

Winners of the Merit award:

Agile Project Management with Kanban 
Author: Eric Brechner
Editor: Devon Musgrave
Deploying and Managing Active Directory with Windows PowerShell
Author: Charlie Russel
Editor: Karen Szall
Microsoft Excel 2016 Step by Step
Author: Curtis Frye
Editor: Rosemary Caperton
T-SQL Querying
Author: Itzik Ben-Gan, Adam Machanic, Dejan Sarka, Kevin Farlee
Editor: Devon Musgrave

Description of this award:

The entry consistently meets high standards in most areas. It might contain a small number of major or minor flaws but it still applies technical communication principles in a highly proficient manner.

About Touchstone

The Northern California chapters of the STC sponsor the annual Touchstone technical communication competition. The proceeds of the competition help support the sponsoring chapters and benefit the STC Kenneth Gordon Scholarship. Touchstone is one of a network of local competitions that produce the contenders for the STC International Summit Awards. Distinguished entries from Touchstone automatically advance to the international competition. Winners at the level of Excellence are also eligible to enter the international competition. STC announces the winners of the Summit Awards at its annual conference.

Skip to main content