By request: Topics covered in Windows Internals, Sixth Edition, Parts 1 and 2

CaptureIn the week since Windows Internals, Sixth Edition, Part 1 became available for purchase, customers have been asking what topics will be covered in Part 2, which is scheduled for release this fall.

Here are the Contents at a Glance of both books:

Windows Internals, Sixth Edition, Part 1

Chapter 1  Concepts and Tools
Chapter 2  System Architecture
Chapter 3  System Mechanisms
Chapter 4  Management Mechanisms
Chapter 5  Processes, Threads, and Jobs
Chapter 6  Security
Chapter 7  Networking

Windows Internals, Sixth Edition, Part 2

Chapter 8  I/O System
Chapter 9  Storage Management
Chapter 10  Memory Management
Chapter 11  Cache Manager
Chapter 12  File Systems
Chapter 13  Startup and Shutdown
Chapter 14  Crash Dump Analysis

We’re thrilled to hear excitement is already brewing for Part 2! If you want to see for yourself why Windows Internals has cultivated such an enthusiastic fan base over the years, check out Windows Internals, Sixth Edition, Part 1 for yourself by purchasing it here, here, or here.

And if you are curious why we decided to split the Sixth Edition across two books, please read this previous post.

Comments (4)

  1. Michael Dragone says:

    I hate to ask this, but this 6th Edition doesn't seem like it will cover Windows 8 (server or client). Will that be covered as an appendix or addendum to part 2 or as a separate book (or the 7th edition)?

  2. Luigi Bruno says:

    I'm ordering it now.

  3. Andreas Erson says:


    This book has had a new edition for every Windows release. Fourth edition was updated with content for WinXP/Win2003, fifth edition for Vista/Win2008 and this new sixth edition is updated with content for Win7/Win2008R2. With all the major changes in Win8/Win2012 I would bet that will be included in the seventh edition.

  4. That's correct, Andreas. And we're theorizing new publishing approaches to speed up the release of the seventh edition.

Skip to main content