And we’re live with O’Reilly Media

Microsoft Press Books Published by the experts at Microsoft Press, now distributed by O’Reilly Media We’re keeping it simple tonight.


Andrew Levicki: Study tips for Exam 70-297

Hi again, everyone. Agent Levicki reporting for duty! It’s been one month since my last blog post, and I did promise to keep you updated every two weeks, so I have already had a good telling-off from the chiefs at Microsoft Press, so don’t you start! Seriously, I hope that you will forgive me for…


Happy Thanksgiving to our readers in the U.S.!

Here’s something lighthearted for the holiday: A 1980s Home Computer Family Celebration. “Gather the kids round your Apple II and enjoy these nostalgic, vaguely unsettling vintage ads.” Have a great holiday, everybody! (We’ll be back to the relative humdrum of books and technology on Monday.)


William Stanek: Intermission: Out of the gate, now what?

William here. Happy Thanksgiving (a bit early I know 😉 As I promised my kids I’d do nothing useful this week, I’m going to keep this discussion in the realm of non-work. With that in mind, this post contains nothing useful. Nothing, absolutely nothing, I promise you. So if you’re averse to the non-useful, stop…


William Stanek: Intermission: A coming out party

William here. In the spirit of the holidays, I promised my kids I’d do nothing useful this week. To keep this post in the realm of non-work I decided to have an early coming out party. No, not in the tradition of Adam L or Justin T. More in the tradition of the release of…


New book: Introducing Windows 7 for Developers

Here’s a post about the newly published Introducing Windows 7 for Developers, by Yochay Kiriaty, Laurence Moroney, Sasha Goldshtein and Alon Fliess. (The book’s ISBN is 9780735626829, and it contains 416 pages.) You can read the Foreword by Mark Russinovich here. Today we’d like to share some other excerpts from the book. First, here is…


Ed Wilson: Beware of the infamous FFTC

With the approach of the holiday season I feel that I must warn you about the infamous FFTC (Friends and family toting cameras). The FFTC seem to appear at all family gatherings like moths drawn to a flame, and their work can be as destructive to one’s sense of well being and reputation. What am…


New book: Microsoft Application Architecture Guide, Second Edition

We’re happy to announce that Microsoft Application Architecture Guide, 2nd Edition (Patterns & Practices) is available now. You can buy it in hard copy via online retailers (ISBN: 9780735627109) or download it from the Microsoft Download Center. Here’s the book’s Foreword by S. Somasegar: Foreword In using our own technologies to build Microsoft products, and…


Forefront TMG 2010 Administrator’s Companion available for pre-order

Greetings. We authors of Forefront TMG 2010 Administrator’s Companion are about to finish work on the book, which will be available in January 2010. To begin giving you a sense of the book, today we’d like to share its Introduction. Pre-order is available at DigitalGuru; make sure to reserve yours! Introduction Forefront Threat Management Gateway…

Author news: Sayed Hashimi on MSBuild, Part 2

Sayed Ibrahim Hashimi, co-author of the much-praised book Inside the Microsoft Build Engine: Using MSBuild and Team Foundation Build (Microsoft Press, 2009; ISBN: 9780735626287; 432 pages), returns to dnrTV in show #158, in which Sayed shows some third-party MSBuild scripts, tools, and tasks. The video is 53 minutes, 18 seconds. At the 25:55 point, Sayed begins…