Zune Zune Zune!

So the cat's out of the bag. $249.99 on Nov 14th. Finally, and they promised that Microsoft Employees will all get one in the holiday season, no repeats of what happened when XBOX 360 went retail. Great news!

my only concern was the preloaded content. ok, I might be an old fogie but apart from Paul Oakenfold, who are these other guys?

Audio Tracks

  • Band of Horses, “Wicked Gil” (Sub Pop Records)
  • Bitter:Sweet, “The Mating Game” (Quango Music Group)
  • CSS, “Alala (Microsoft edit)” (Sub Pop Records)
  • Darkel, “At The End of The Sky (edit)” (Astralwerks)
  • Every Move a Picture, “Signs of Life” (V2)
  • Small Sins, “Stay” (Astralwerks)
  • The Adored, “Tell Me Tell Me” (V2)
  • The Rakes, “Open Book” (V2)
  • The Thermals, “A Pillar of Salt” (Sub Pop Records)


Music Video

  • 30 Seconds to Mars, “The Kill” (Virgin Records)
  • BT, “1.618” (DTS Entertainment)
  • Chad VanGaalen, “Red Hot Drops” (Sub Pop Records)
  • Coldcut featuring Roots Manuva, “True Skool” (Ninja Tune)
  • CSS, “Let’s Make Love and Listen to Death From Above” (Sub Pop Records)
  • Fruit Bats, “Live: The Wind That Blew My Heart Away” (Sub Pop Records)
  • Grandaddy, “Elevate Myself” (V2)
  • Hot Chip, “Over and Over” (Astralwerks Records)
  • Kraak & Smaak featuring Dez., “Keep Me Home” (Quango Music Group)
  • Kinski, “Live: The Snowy Parts of Scandinavia” (Sub Pop Records)
  • Paul Oakenfold, “Faster Kill Pussycat (Featuring Brittany Murphy)” (Maverick Records)
  • Serena-Maneesh, “Drain Cosmetics” (Playlouderecordings)

Film Shorts

  • 5 Boro: “A New York Skateboarding Minute” (Skateboarding)
  • Radical Films: “Kranked — Progression” (Mountain Biking)
  • TGRTV The North Face (Skiing/Snowboarding)


I could do without all of these content, perhaps they could have brought the price down a bit more too. It's like getting someone else's play-list. I'm not the only one though. checkout Gizmodo's poll on whether people will keep the songs or delete them.

guess i'm not their target market. *sob*. If I was the target market? here's what the pre-loaded audio content will look like:

Audio Tracks

  • A Flock of Seagulls - I Ran (So Far Away)
  • Depeche Mode - People Are People
  • Atlantic Starr - Secret Lovers
  • Baltimora - Tarzan Boy
  • Bangles - Walk Like An Egyptian
  • Dire Straits - Money for Nothing
  • The Clash - Should I Stay Or Should I Go
  • Howard Jones - Like To Get To Know You Well
  • Billy Idol - White Wedding
  • Technotronic - Pump up the Jam
  • Cameo - Word Up
  • Beastie Boys - Fight For Your Right
Skip to main content