Hyper-V question of the day…


When you tell Hyper-V Manager to “Delete Snapshot Subtree…” how do you know if it’s started doing anything? Or if it’s still doing anything? Or if it’s done doing anything?

(I guess that’s more than one question. but they’re all related.)

I’m trying to collapse a huge snapshot subtree that I created as I was building out and adding demo content my Team System 2010 Hyper-V image.

I told it to delete the subtree, but I can’t tell that it’s doing (or done) anything.

Hmmm…

Comments (2)

  1. Snorrk says:

    On Windows 2008 snaphots are not merged/deleted until you completely shut down the guest machine. Beware that it will take some amount of diskspace as well.

    On Windows 2008 R2 the snapshot merging/deleting will happen while the VM is running.

  2. @ Snorrk. Thanks. Yes, read that in the online docs. I’m using R2, but nothing at all appears to happen on the host machine when I tell it to merge/delete. No extra CPU used, no extra memory used, no spike in any of the processes.