Licensing differences between TFS Workgroup Edition and TFS Standard Edition

Recently Ajay Sudan, Product Manager for VSTS, answered a question regarding some confusion over the differences between TFS Workgroup Edition and TFS Standard Edition.  Here is how he summed it up.

TFS Workgroup Edition is not licensed on a Server/CAL model. This means CALs are not required when using the Workgroup Edition. For this reason, the Workgroup Edition does not include any CALs. TFS Workgroup Edition can be used by 5 unique users using any client (MSSCCI, 3rd party client, VS Pro, Team Edition, Project, Excel, etc.).

Once you grow beyond 5 users, you’ll need to upgrade to TFS Standard Edition, which is licensed on a server/CAL model. This means that you must make sure all users have the necessary CALs in place.

The full details are available in the Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Team System Licensing White Paper.

Comments (5)

  1. Buck Hodges blogs on licensing differences between TFS Workgroup Edition and TFS Standard Edition.

  2. Jeff Barton says:

    The Standard Edition includes a license for SQL Server 2005 Standard in which you can store TFS data. Is this also the case with Workgroup Edition?

  3. buckh says:

    Yes.  The following web page has a good summary, including a statement about the included SQL Server 2005 license.

  4. Stephanie says:

    What are the differences between the standard and the workgroup editions?  Are all features available in the WG edition?

  5. buckh says:

    Stephanie, in TFS 2005 and 2008, the workgroup edition could only be used in a Windows workgroup (not with a domain) and had a limit of 5 users.  The standard edition did not have those limitations.

    For TFS 2010 and beyond, that distinction has been removed.  There is just one edition of TFS now.

    The following two posts cover TFS 2010.




Skip to main content